Faculty, students recognized for fund-raising efforts
Perspectives On Line: The Magazine of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
NC State University

Fall 2002 Contents PageFeatures Natural Wonders Excellent Preparation Toward a Lifetime of Leadership
View from the Summit
A Closer Look
College Profile

Noteworthy News Alumni Giving Items of Interest From the Dean College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Faculty, students recognized
for fund-raising efforts

Dean Jim Oblinger congratulates the 2002 Resource Development Award winners. From left: Stuart Warren and Bryce Lane, accepting for ALCA team president Vance Whitaker; Oblinger; Donn Ward; John Vandenbergh; and Gerald Elkan.  (Photo by Sheri D. Thomas)

The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences presented its 2002 Faculty and Student Organization Resource Development Awards, sponsored by the North Carolina Agricultural Foundation Inc. Board of Directors, at ceremonies during the April joint luncheon of the boards of the Agriculture, Dairy and Tobacco foundations.

Dean Jim Oblinger presented the $500 awards, which included two Faculty Resource Development Awards, one award for Retired Faculty Resource Development and one award in recognition of the efforts of a College student organization.

The first individual faculty winner was Dr. John G. Vandenbergh, professor in the Department of Zoology. He was honored for his efforts in the development of a new field station for teaching and research with Wake County and Yates Mill Associates Inc., as well as the establishment of Yates Mill Associates, a nonprofit organization. His leadership has helped raise more than $1.8 million for the new 550-acre Yates Mill Historic Park and the A. E. Finley Center for Education and Research, due for completion in 2003. He also led the effort to fund, design and build the $4.8 million Biological Resources Facility and is a founding member of the W. M. Keck Center for Behavioral Biology.

The second individual Faculty Resource Development Award went to Dr. Donn Ward, professor and assistant head of the Department of Food Science, for his leadership in Food Science fund-raising efforts. His activities have resulted in the receipt of substantial endowed and annual scholarship funds and more than $75,000 in facility improvement funds.

Dr. Gerald Elkan, professor emeritus in the Department of Microbiology, received the Retired Faculty Resource Development Award for his efforts in raising funds for a distinguished lectureship that bears his name, as well as his other resource development activities. He also spent volunteer hours researching the history of the Department of Microbiology and published Microbial History, which is used as a thank-you gift for substantial contributions to the lectureship endowment and which is also sold, with proceeds going to the endowment.

The Student Organization award was presented to the Horticultural Science Associated Landscape Contractors of America (ALCA) Team. Dr. Bryce Lane and Dr. Stuart Warren of the Horticultural Science Department accepted the award for student Vance Whitaker, the team president. The team was honored for its efforts in raising the $20,000 needed for participation in a three-day competition sponsored by ALCA. The team sent solicitation letters, secured landscaping jobs, held daily bake sales, sold benefit drawing tickets (using donated goods for prizes) and recruited sponsors for team T-shirts. This is the 12th year in a row that the team has raised all its own expense monies. Students from more than 45 colleges and universities travel to take part in the event. The N.C. State ALCA team has placed in the top 10 for 10 of the last 11 years.

—Terri Leith


Previous PageTop of PageNext Page