Three from College are Barry M. Goldwater Scholars
Perspectives On Line: The Magazine of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
NC State University

Fall 2002 Contents PageFeatures Natural Wonders Excellent Preparation Toward a Lifetime of Leadership
View from the Summit
A Closer Look
College Profile

Noteworthy News Alumni Giving Items of Interest From the Dean College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Three from College are
Barry M. Goldwater Scholars

Margaret Andrews (left), Heidi Perreault and Keriann Paul are winners of the merit-based Goldwater scholarships.  (Photo by Herman Lankford)

Three students of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences are among the four N.C. State University students to win the prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships for 2002, the first time that all four N.C. State nominees have been awarded this recognition. The students from the College are Heidi Perreault of Cary, Keriann Paul of Hickory and Margaret Andrews of Longwood, Fla.

Perreault is a senior majoring in zoology and multidisciplinary studies. Paul is a junior biochemistry major and a Park Scholar. Andrews, a senior in biochemistry, is also a Park Scholar.

The fourth N.C. State student named is Derek Justice, a junior majoring in electrical engineering and physics.

They are among 309 undergraduate students from the 50 states and Puerto Rico to be awarded Goldwater Scholarships for the 2002-2003 academic year, as chosen by the trustees of the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation. Scholars were selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,555 mathematics, science and engineering students who were nominated by the faculties of colleges and universities nationwide. The one- and two-year scholarships will cover the costs of tuition, fees, books, room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 a year.

—Terri Leith


Previous PageTop of PageNext Page