Perspectives Online

Resource Development Awards presented at joint foundations event

On front row are (from left) Dr. Anita Flick and Long Hhuyn, representing the N.C. State Pre-Health Club, and retired faculty award co-winner Carolyn Register and her husband, Roy. Behind them (from left) are Robert Sutter of North Carolina Peanut Growers Association, Dean Johnny Wynne, Dr. Nick Hamon of Bayer CropScience, retired faculty award co-winner Dr. Chester Black, Director Emeritus Award winner Fleet Sugg, Nevin Kessler of University Advancement and faculty award winner Dr. Blake Brown.

Photo by Marc Hall
The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences presented its 2010 Resource Development Awards April 14, during the annual joint luncheon of the N.C. Agricultural, Dairy and Tobacco Foundations at the N.C. State University Club. The awards, sponsored each year by the N.C. Agricultural Foundation Inc., recognized CALS faculty, retired faculty and student organizations for efforts in raising funds in support of College programs, as well as volunteer and commodity organization support activities.

Dr. Blake Brown, Hugh C. Kiger Distinguished Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics, was honored with the Faculty Resource Development Award. Dr. Chester Black, former state 4-H leader, and Carolyn Register, retired N.C. Cooperative Extension district agent and district program leader, received the Retired Faculty Resource Development Award. The student organization award winner was the N.C. State Pre-Health Club, represented by Long Hhuyn, club president, and adviser Dr. Anita Flick.

The 2010 Outstanding Volunteer Award went to Dr. Nick Hamon, Bayer CropScience vice president of product development and sustainable development. And the North Carolina Peanut Growers Association was named 2010 Outstanding Commodity Organization, with Robert Sutter, executive director of the association, accepting the award.

Also during the luncheon, the N.C. Agricultural Foundation Inc. presented its inaugural Director Emeritus Award to Norfleet L. Sugg, who has served as a foundation board member for more than 30 years.

Terri Leith