Perspectives Online

Team honored for food processing technology

A team made up of Department of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences faculty members and students in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences has been honored for the second time for the development of a food processing technology.

The team won a 2009 U.S. Department of Agriculture Agricultural Research Service (ARS) Superior Efforts in Technology Transfer Award.

“The purpose of this awards program is to annually recognize individuals or groups who have excelled in transferring ARS-developed science information and technology to our customers and the marketplace,” said an email announcing winners. The team was cited for “development and transfer of a novel continuous flow microwave heating process for producing large containers of aseptic shelf-stable vegetable and fruit purees.”

The Institute of Food Technologists honored the team earlier this year with an Industrial Achievement Award. The technology is being used by a company called Yamco in Snow Hill, N.C., to process sweet potatoes into sweet potato puree.

Team members who will share the ARS award are Dr. Van-Den Truong, associate professor and ARS research food technologist; Dr. Josip Simunovic, research associate professor; Dr. Ken Swartzel, William Neal Reynolds Professor and director of the Food Systems Leadership Institute; Dr. K.P. Sandeep, professor; Dr. Pablo Coronel, formerly a doctoral student in the department;Gary Cartwright, Department of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences pilot plant coordinator; Dr. Prabhat Kumar, formerly a doctoral student; Laurie Steed, doctoral student; and Dr. David Parrott of Industrial Microwave Systems of Morrisville, which was a partner in the project. The team will receive a plaque at the ARS Annual Recognition Program in February in Washington, D.C.