Perspectives Online

Wynne, Esbenshade, Oakley receive FFA awards

Dr. Johnny C. Wynne, dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences; Dr. Ken Esbenshade, CALS associate dean and director of Academic Programs; and Keith Oakley, executive director of College Advancement, have each received the Honorary American FFA Degree. The awards, honoring people who have advanced agricultural education and FFA through outstanding personal commitment, were presented in October during the 81st National FFA Convention, held in Indianapolis, Indiana.

The Honorary American FFA Degree recognizes individuals whose efforts on behalf of agricultural education have made a long-term difference in the lives of students, inspiring confidence in a new generation of agriculturists.

FFA, formerly known as Future Farmers of America, is a national youth organization of more than 500,000 student members that works to enhance the lives of youth through agricultural education.

With 7,358 chapters in all 50 states, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands, the FFA works to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education.

-- Dave Caldwell