Perspectives Online

Scott, 4-H benefactor Aycock among 2007 Watauga Medalists

Elizabeth Johnson Aycock and former Gov. Robert Scott were honored for contributions to the advancement of N.C. State.
Photo by Roger Winstead

Former N.C. Gov. Robert W. Scott, Elizabeth Johnson Aycock and the late Randall B. Terry Jr. were recognized with Watauga Medals at the N.C. State University Founders' Day Dinner on March 7 at the McKimmon Center. Chancellor James L. Oblinger presented the medals, the highest nonacademic honor bestowed by the university.

Scott, a native of Haw River, received his 1952 bachelor's degree in animal industry from the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. He was North Carolina's governor from 1969 to 1973.

Aycock, a native of Johnston County who lives in Raleigh, was the first employee of Research Triangle Foundation and was instrumental in the Research Triangle Park's development (see related story). She is also a lifetime honorary member of the North Carolina 4-H Development Fund.

Terry, a native of High Point, was former director of the International Home Furnishings Market. He established three scholarship funds in the N.C. State College of Veterinary Medicine, and he also served as president of the CVM board of directors.

- NCSU News Services