Perspectives Online

Food Science Department announces awards

Several faculty members and students in the Department of Food Science in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences are recipients of major awards from the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT). Among those honored:

  • Dr. Jon Allen, 2005 Babcock-Hart Award for research contributions in nutrition and public health
  • Dr. MaryAnne Drake, 2005 Samuel Cate Prescott Award, given to a young scientist for outstanding research contributions
  • Dr. Brian Farkas, 2005 William V. Cruess Award for excellence in teaching (he is the fourth member of the department to win this prestigious award)
  • Dr. Donn Ward, interim department head, elected as Fellow of IFT for 2005, a professional distinction conferred on individuals of outstanding qualifications and experience for their overall contributions in the field of food science and technology
  • Dany Doucet, recent Ph.D. graduate, Kenneth R. Keller Award for excellence in doctoral research
  • Tri Duong, Ph.D. graduate student, IFTSA Achievement Award for student leadership and outstanding service to a student chapter