NC State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences


2016 Field Day/Event Calendar

The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at North Carolina State University sponsors field days on agricultural commodities ranging from apples and cotton to tomatoes, turf and sweet potatoes. We will list field day information as it becomes available throughout the year.

Please Note: If you wish to participate in a field day and have a disability or desire any assistive devices, services or other accommodations in order to participate, please contact 919.515.2717 during business hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at least two weeks before the event to request accommodations.



Field Day




Peach Production Workshop

Monday, Jan. 25
1-4 p.m.

Sandhills Research Station
2148 Windblow Road
Jackson Springs, NC

Jeremy Martin,

Small Grain Field Day, Northeast Ag Expo

Thursday, Feb. 25
10 a.m.
(Alternate Date: March 10)

3037 W Main Street Extension
Elizabeth City NC 27909

Al Wood

Wolfpack Roundup,
Student Livestock Sale

Saturday, April 9
11 a.m.

Beef Unit
Lake Wheeler Road Field Lab
4505 Mid Pines Road
Raleigh, NC

Gary Gregory

Farm Animal Days

Wednesday- Friday, April 13-15,
9 a.m. - 1 p.m.

Beef Unit
Lake Wheeler Road Field Lab
4505 Mid Pines Road
Raleigh, NC

Brent Jennings

Small Grain Field Day,
Central Piedmont

Thursday, April 21
Registration: 11 a.m.
Program: 11:30 a.m.

Piedmont Research Station
8350 Sherills Ford Road
Salisbury, NC

Joe Hampton

Small Grain Symposium,
Coastal Plain

Tuesday, April 26
4 p.m.

Southeastern NC Agricultural Events Center
1027 US Hwy 74 East
Lumberton, NC 28358

Mac Malloy

Small Grain Field Day,
Southern Piedmont

Tuesday, May 3
10 a.m.

20 Caulde
Peachland, NC

Andrew Baucom

Small Grain Field Day,

Thursday, May 12
8 a.m., with breakfast starting at 7:30

3370 Beech Ridge Road
Belhaven, NC 27810

Rod Gurganus

Farm to Fork event --
Picnic at Breeze Farm

Sunday, June 5
For information and tickets, see

Breeze Family Farm Center
4909 Walnut Grove Church
Hurdle Mills, NC
Orange County

Mike Ortosky

Sandhills Turfgrass Field Day

Wednesday, June 15
8:30 a.m. to noon

Register now at 

Sandhills Research Station
2148 Windblow Road
Jackson Springs, NC

Jeremy Martin

Christmas Tree Worker Safety Workshop

Thursday, June 16
9 a.m.

Upper Mountain Research
Station, 8004 NC Hwy 88 East
Laurel Springs, NC

Tracy Taylor

Precision Ag Field Day "Where Technology Meets the Dirt Road"

Thursday, June 23
8 a.m. registration with program starting at 8:45 a.m.

Tidewater Research Station
Plymouth, NC

Jewell Tetterton

Landscape Color Field Day

Wednesday, June 29
9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Please register at

JC Raulston Arboretum and Horticulture Field Lab
Raleigh, NC

Brian Whipker

Mountain Research Station
Field Day

Thursday, June 30
2 p.m.

Mountain Research Station
265 Text Farm Road
Waynesville, NC

Kaleb Rathbone

NC A&T Small Farms Field Day

Thursday, June 30
8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

NC A&T State University Farm
3136 McConnell Road
Greensboro, NC

Cover Crop Conference

July 18-19, please register at

July 19: Cherry Research Farm
Goldsboro, NC

Molly Hamilton

Beef Cattle Field Day

Saturday, July 23
8:15 a.m.

Cherry Research Farm
201 Stevens Mill Road
Goldsboro, NC

Andy Meier

NC Tobacco Tour

Monday evening to Wednesday, July 25 to 27

Various locations across NC

Matthew Vann

Northeast Ag Expo Field Day

Thursday, July 28

Lynn Hobbs Farms in Gates County
185 Spivey Road
Hobbsville, NC 27946

Al Wood

Blacklands Farm Managers Tour

Wednesday, Aug. 3

Englehard, NC

Rod Gurganus

Turfgrass Field Day

Wednesday, Aug. 10
Registration: 8 a.m.
Program: 8:30 a.m.

Lake Wheeler Road Field Laboratory
Raleigh, NC

Rick Brandenburg

Tomato Field Day

Tuesday, Aug. 16
8 a.m. Registration

Mountain Horticultural Crops Research and Extension Center
74 Research Dr
Mills River, NC

Jeff Chandler

Peanut Field Day

Thursday, Sept. 8
8:30 a.m. Registration
9 a.m. Program

Peanut Belt Research Station
112 Station Lane
Lewiston-Woodville, NC

David Jordan

Southeast Peanut Field Day

Tuesday, Sept. 13
9:30 a.m. Program

Border Belt Research Station
86 Border Belt Drive
Whiteville, NC

David Jordan

Cotton Field Day

Thursday, Sept. 15
11:45 a.m. Registration
1:30-4:30 p.m. Tours
4:30 p.m. Closing remarks and door prizes

Upper Coastal Plain Research Station
2811 Nobles Mill Pond Road
Rocky Mount, NC

Keith Edmisten

Sheep Grazing Workshop

Saturday, Sept. 17
9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Beef Unit at Lake Wheeler Road Field Lab
3720 Mid Pines Road
Raleigh, NC

Johnny Rogers

Bio-Energy Field Day

Tuesday, Sept. 20
Starting at 11 a.m.

Register at

Williamsdale Bio-Energy Field Lab
7624 NC 41 South
Wallace, NC

John Garner

Grain Sorghum Field Day

Tuesday, Sept. 20
Starting at 3:30 p.m.

Upper Coastal Plain
Research Station
2811 Nobles Mill Pond Road
Rocky Mount

Ron Heiniger

Sweet Potato Field Day

Thursday, Sept 29
3 p.m. Registration
3:30 p.m. Program

Horticultural Crops Research Station
Clinton, NC

Jonathan Schultheis

Poinsettia Field Day

Thursday, November 29
9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Horticultural Field Lab
Beryl Road
Raleigh, NC

John Dole

Tobacco Day

Thursday, Dec. 1
Starting at 8:15 a.m.

Johnston County Extension Center
2736 NC 210 Hwy
Smithfield, NC