IMSM Poster 2008

Choose a Section


Supporting institutions

IMSM 2008

History and past workshops

The origins: The IMMW (Industrial Mathematics Modeling Workshop) series began at the Claremont Graduate School where Professor Cumberbatch organized the first two workshops in the summers of 1993 and 1994. The workshop then moved to NCSU where it has been held since. Professor Hien Tran chaired the organizing committee during the years 1995-1998. The workshop was subsequently organized by Professors Ralph Smith 1999-2000, Pierre Gremaud 2001-2, Negash Medhin 2003-4, Mansoor Haider 2005-6, and Sharon Lubkin 2007-8. The committees have also included: Tom Banks, Robert Buche, Ellis Cumberbatch, Ben Fitzpatrick, Alan Karr, Zhilin Li, Mette Olufsen, Fernando Reitich, and Jeff Scroggs.

Workshops similar to the IMMW have been held for a number of years throughout the United States and in Europe. Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute has organized several mathematical modeling workshops since 1985. The Institute for Mathematics and its Applications (IMA) at the University of Minnesota conducted a mathematical modeling program for faculty/instructors for four weeks in the summers of 1992 and 1996. The format employed at NCSU was adopted by the IMA for two graduate students workshops it organized in 1998 and 2000. The Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences from the University of British Columbia has held several yearly workshops since 1997 along those lines. Finally, under the auspices of the European Consortium for Mathematics in Industry (ECMI), several modeling weeks have been organized since 1988 at different sites in Europe.

In 2003 the workshop was renamed the IMSM (Industrial Mathematical and Statistical Modeling) workshop to highlight the emphasis on statistics.

Past institutions/companies participating:

1995: Chemical Industry Institute of Technology, Lord Corporation, Arnold Air Force Base, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, National Security Agency.

1996: The Aerospace Corporation, Brooks Air Force Base, Lord Corporation, National Security Agency, Chemical Industry Institute of Toxicology, Hughes Aircraft Company.

1997: ABB Power T&D Company Inc., Boeing Co., Michelin Americas Research & Development Corp., National Security Agency, Kodak.

1998: The Aerospace Corporation, Battelle Memorial Institute, FACE International Corp., Jenike & Johanson, Inc., Johnson & Johnson Co., D.H. Wagner Associates.

1999: The Aerospace Corporation, Battelle Memorial Institute, Chemical Industry Institute of Toxicology, Jenike & Johanson, Inc., Michelin North America, National Security Agency.

2000: The Aerospace Corporation,, Inc., Duke University Medical Center, First Union Securities, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Jenike & Johanson, Inc.

2001: Bank of Montreal, Boeing, Duke University Medical Center, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, ICASE-NASA Langley Research Center, Michelin North America.

2002: CG Stat, Duke University Medical Center, Jenike & Johanson, Inc., Kirtland Airforce Base, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, Sandia National Laboratories, Summus.

2003: Federal Reserve Bank (Chicago), Jenike & Johanson, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, MCNC-Research and Development Institute, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, National Institute of Statistical Sciences.

2004: Battelle Memorial Institute, Calabazas Creek Research Inc, CIIT, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Michelin North America, MIT Lincoln Lab.

2005: Intelligent Automation, Inc., Lord Corporation, MIT Lincoln Lab, Novartis Pharma, Novozymes, Inc., PAR Technologies and Progress Energy.

2006:, Bank of America, GlaxoSmithKline, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Lord Corporation, and MIT Lincoln Lab.

2007: Bureau of Labor Statistics, Cherokee Investment Partners, Constella Group, Environmental Protection Agency, MIT Lincoln Laboratories, and Nippon Steel.