Biltmore Hall (Robertson Wing)
View from Southwest
Scroll below for building history
Location: Central Campus
Sq. Footage 75,113
NC State's School of Forestry has rapidly gained respect and recognition since its beginnings. The school offers its own forest resources library and over 82,000 acres of forest-- a "classroom with roots."
Biltmore Hall received its name from the Biltmore Forest School (1898-1913) near Asheville, North Carolina, which was the first forestry school in North America. The founder of the school, Dr. Carl A. Schenk, felt that NC State's School of Forestry was the successor to his school. Schenck received an honorary Doctor of Forestry Science degree from NC State in 1952 and the Schenck Memorial Forest near Carter-Finley Stadium was dedicated to his memory in 1957.
When Dr. Julius Hoffman arrived on campus with 46 students due to the closing
of Pennsylvania State Forestry School in 1929, NC State started a degree program
The original Robertson Building was considered unique to the South and has housed a small paper-making machine in addition to all necessary supporting research equipment. The Robertson Building is connected to Biltmore Hall, and the new, three-story labs contain an area of 27,500 square feet. The building is named after Reuben Buck Robertson (1879-1972).
Robertson graduated from Yale University and practiced law in Cincinnati before working with the Champion Paper and Fiber Company at Canton. He later became chief executive and president in 1950, and a member of the Board of Directors. Citing him for "his achievements in science, in industry, and in promoting social welfare," NC State awarded Robertson an honorary Doctor of Science degree in 1932. In 1954, the American Forestry Association extended to him the Conservation Award for Distinguished Service.