53rd Annual Meeting of the Phytochemical Society of North America, August 9-13, 2014

Symposia and Keynote Speakers

Plenary Speakers


Metabolic Biology of Plant Natural Products
Dr. Richard A. Dixon, Department of Biological Sciences, University of North Texas, TX, USA

Botanical Medicines
Dr. Nicholas Oberlies, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of North Carolina, Greensboro, NC, USA

Synthetic Biology of Plant Natural Products
Dr. Christopher J. Paddon, Amyris, Inc. Emeryville, CA, USA

Symposium I: Biosynthesis of Plant Natural Products

Chairs: Dr. Dhaubhadel Sangeeta, Dr. Li Tian, Dr. Monica Borghi and Dr. Xu Li

Featured speakers:
Dr. Vincenzo de Luca, Brock University, Canada
Dr. Asaph Aharoni, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
Dr. Natalia Dudareva, Purdue University, USA
Dr. Jose Alonso, North Carolina State University, USA

Symposium II: Plant Metabolomics

Chairs: Dr. Lining Guo and Dr. Reinhard Jetter

Featured speakers:
Dr. John Ryals, Metabolon, Inc. USA
Dr. Lloyd Sumner, Plant Biology Division, Noble Foundation, USA

Symposium III: Plant Systems Biology

Chairs: Dr. Rosangela Sozzani and Dr. David Gang

Featured speakers:
Dr. Joerg Schwender, Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA
Dr. Adrienne Roeder, Department of Plant Biology, Cornell University, USA

Symposium IV: Renewable Petro Biofuel from Plants

Chairs: Dr. Danny J. Schnell and Dr. Deyu Xie

Featured speakers:
Dr. Danny J. Schnell, University of Massachusetts, USA
Dr. Edgar B. Cahoon, University of Nebraska, USA
Dr. Amy Grunden, North Carolina State University, USA

Symposium V: Botanical Medicines

Chairs: Dr. Nicholas Oberlies and Dr. Jeremy Johnson

Featured speakers:
Dr. Douglas Kinghorn, Ohio State University
Dr. Luc Pieters, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Antwerp, Belgium

Symposium VI: Arthur Neish Young Investigator Award Symposium and Elsevier/Phytochemistry Award Lecture

Chairs: Dr. Fred Stevens, Dr. Argelia Lorence and Dr. Toni Kutchan

Award winners will be announced in May.

Symposium VII: Phytochemicals, pathogens and insects

Chairs: Dr. Mark Bernards and Dr. Eric Johnson

Featured speakers:
Dr. Reuben Peters, Iowa State, University, USA
Dr. Soren Bak, Department of Plant and Environmental Sciences, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Symposium VIII: Phytochemicals, Crops and Agriculture

Chairs: Dr. Dan Sung, Dr. Baochun Li, Dr. Peifeng Ren, Dr. Nic Bate, Dr. Mark Berhow

Featured speakers:
Dr. Elvira DeMeija, the University of Illinois, USA
Dr. John Litteton, University of Kentucky, USA
Dr. Sean Cutler, University of California, River side, CA USA
Dr. Marie Petracek, Monsanto, St. Luis, MI USA
Dr. Luke Mankin, BASF Plant Science, L.P., Research Triangle Park, NC, USA