Results: Research, Innovation and Economic Development at North Carolina State University is published twice yearly by the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research, Innovation and Economic Development. Text may be reprinted provided credit is given. Photographs and artwork may not be reprinted without written permission from the editor.

W. Randolph Woodson

Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Warwick A. Arden

Vice Chancellor for Research, Innovation and
Economic Development

Terri L. Lomax

Agriculture and Life Sciences
Richard Linton, Dean

Marvin J. Malecha, Dean

Jayne Fleener, Dean

Louis A. Martin-Vega, Dean

Graduate School
Duane K. Larick, Dean

Humanities and Social Sciences
Jeffery P. Braden, Dean

Ira R. Weiss, Dean

Natural Resources
Mary Watzin, Dean

Daniel L. Solomon, Dean

A. Blanton Godfrey, Dean

Veterinary Medicine
D. Paul Lunn, Dean


Katie Mosher

Associate Editor
David Hunt

Subscription Manager
Bonnie Aldridge

Contributing writers
Angela Brockelsby
Dave Caldwell
Kylie Cafiero
Lisa Chang
Nate DeGraff
Tilla Feam
D'Lyn Ford
Wade Fulghum
Dave Green
Lauren Kirkpatrick
Mick Kulikowski
Tracey Peake
Gene Pinder
Matt Shipman
Jenny Weston

Contributing photographers
Marc Hall
Becky Kirkland
Gene Pinder
Wendy Savage
Marc Turano
Katy Warner
Roger Winstead

©2013 NC State University